I’ve never really looked at a photo to see why it works, I generally know that they do or don’t. I took this on my phone whilst watching a street dance performance of Overworlds and Underworlds in Leeds on a Saturday afternoon in May 2012.

I wasn’t really sure what I was watching so I wanted to capture some of it to look back at later.

image

I generally just click and shoot and hope what comes out is something like. When I looked at what I’d captured, the dancers seemed lost between the area of pavement and complicated background.

I cropped it to a square format, used a filter to enhance the colour and added a border, resulting in the image below.


I was quite impressed with what I could do with a couple of clicks. I can see this opens debate as to whether apps and filters and the like are taking the skill out of photography or actually opening it up to others. I’m not going to cover the pros and cons here as this is about how this image turned out.

By accident, I managed to catch a moment where all dancers were as one. The neutral colours of their outfits brings out their hair colour and complements the colours in the buildings behind. I like that the complicated metal infrastructure contrasts with the simplicity of a group of people standing and sitting together.

The image also catches something about value and worth. Those dance students are probably finding it tough to get by so there’s some irony they are pictured in front of one of the more expensive shops in the city.

I also like how the shop name sits above the arch; total accident by the way.

There’s one aspect which initially annoyed me but on reflection puts the image in context. I managed to capture a shopper looking through the dancers.

Anyway, it works for me and I hope it does for others too.

