DSC01441

There are many sculptures in Opatija, Croatia where I spent my summer break. Most of them portray people who have influenced its history. One however has created its own history and captured my imagination. The maiden with the seagull by sculptor Zvonko Car.

I passed it many times whilst walking along the promenade into town, often sitting and wondering who it was, why it was there and how many others had seen it. I imagined she came alive at night and sat on the benches for a rest and talked through people’s problems with them.

DSC01429

The story is here. In summary the current version is a replacement for a statue of the Madonna di Mare; a memorial to someone lost at sea but which overtime was itself lost to the sea, restored and now lives in a local museum

DSC01479DSC01470

crop

It was interesting to see it in different light at different times of the day.

DSC01092 DSC01172 DSC01930

It featured in the cultural festival held while we were there.

DSC01523 DSC01540

For a while there were two women in my life, but I think I got away with it.

